NIPOMO COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING

JULY 12, 2001 THURSDAY 10:30 A.M.

BOARD ROOM 148 S. WILSON STREET NIPOMO, CA

BOARD MEMBERS

STAFF

ROBERT BLAIR, **PRESIDENT** RICHARD MOBRAATEN, **DIRECTOR** MICHAEL WINN, **DIRECTOR** JUDITH WIRSING, **DIRECTOR** OPEN SEAT DOUGLAS JONES, GENERAL MANAGER DONNA JOHNSON, SECRETARY TO THE BOARD JON SEITZ, GENERAL COUNSEL

CALL TO ORDER

President Blair called the meeting to order at 10:32 a.m.

ROLL CALL

At Roll Call, the following Directors were present: Wirsing, Winn, Mobraaten and Blair

Public Comment on Agenda Items

The public has the right to comment on any item on the Special Meeting Agenda. Comments are limited to 3 minutes or otherwise at the discretion of the Chair.

ADMINISTRATIVE ITEM

Consider candidates and appoint a director to the open seat on the District's Board. Legal Counsel, Jon Seitz, handled the initial procedures and opened the floor for any nominations to be considered for the open seat. None were received from the floor. It was moved by Director Winn and seconded by Director Mobraaten to close the nominations for the open seat on the Board. Vote 4-0.

President Blair opened the session for speakers. The candidates drew numbers from a hat for the order in which to speak. The candidates spoke in the following order:

John Eppard, Clifford Trotter, Jim Dunbar, Richard Holguin, Evan Evanoff, Vincent McCarthy, Lawrence Vierheilig, Donald Collins, and Stephen Forst

The following members of the public spoke:

<u>Bob Beedle - 559 Woodgreen</u>, <u>Del Simon - 695 Black Ridge Lane</u> and <u>Marilyn Janulus - 506 Misty View of Nipomo</u> spoke in favor of John Eppard. Pres. Blair said a letter was received from <u>Rick & Irene Erwin</u> supporting Mr. Eppard.

Bob McGill - 530 Snead spoke in favor of Richard Holguin

John Bowen from the Black Lake area read a letter from Black Lake Village Council supporting all three candidates from Black Lake.

Florence Evanoff spoke in favor of Evan Evanoff

Istar Holliday -577 Sheridan Rd. Arroyo Grande - spoke in favor of Lawrence Vierheilig, Evan Evanoff, Vincent McCarthy and Jim Dunbar.

A letter was received from <u>Herb Kandel</u> supporting Larry Vierheilig, Evan Evanoff, and Vincent McCarthy.

The Board had further questions for each candidate.

Public comments:

<u>Delores Simon</u> spoke in favor of appointing someone from Black Lake area. President Blair closed the public comment period.

The Board then created a short list of candidates consisting of Jim Dunbar, Clifford Trotter, John Eppard and Lawrence Vierheilig. The Board decided that the first candidate to receive three (3) votes would be appointed. Director Mobraaten nominated Clifford Trotter. Director Winn seconded the nomination. Roll Call vote 4-0.

Motion was made by Director Mobraaten and seconded by Director Winn to appoint Clifford Trotter to the open seat on the Nipomo Community Services District Board. Roll Call vote 4-0.

ADJOURN

President Blair adjourned the meeting at 1:45 p.m.

The next regular Board meeting will be held July 18, 2001.