TO: BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FROM: MICHAEL LEBRUN

DATE: APRIL 9, 2010

AGENDA ITEM E-5 APRIL 14, 2010

LAFCO REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS

ITEM

Consider Local Agency Formation Commission's Request to Fill Alternate Special District Seat Vacancy. [Discuss and Nominate Candidate].

BACKGROUND

The LAFCO seat for Alternate Special District Member is vacant and the Commission is seeking nominations.

FISCAL IMPACT

None.

RECOMMENDATION

Provide a nomination and direct staff to file paper work.

ATTACHMENTS

March 29, 2010 LAFCO Letter

T:\BOARD MATTERS\BOARD MEETINGS\BOARD LETTER\2010\100414 LAFCO NOMINATION.DOC



COMMISSIONERS DUANE PICANCO Chair, City Member

RICHARD ROBERTS Vice Chair, Public Member

KATCHO ACHADJIAN County Member

DAVID BROOKS Special District Member

ED EBY Special District Member

BRUCE GIBSON County Member

ALLEN SETTLE City Member

ALTERNATES TOM MURRAY Public Member

JAMES R. PATTERSON County Member

> KRIS VARDAS City Member

VACANT Special District Member

STAFF DAVID CHURCH Executive Officer

RAYMOND A. BIERING Legal Counsel

DONNA J. BLOYD Commission Clerk LAFCO - San Luis Obispo - Local Agency Formation Commission SLO LAFCO - Serving the Area of San Luis Obispo County

TO: EACH INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT

FROM: DAVID CHURCH, AICP, EXECUTIVE OFFICER 90

DATE: MARCH 29, 2010

RE: REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS FOR LAFCO ALTERNATE SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER

Mr. Ed Eby, Board Member with the Nipomo Community Services District, was serving as LAFCO's Alternate Special District member. He has recently been elected as the Regular LAFCO Special District Member. The term for the new alternate member would run through December 31, 2013.

In the event that a meeting of the Special District Selection Committee is not feasible, Government Code Section 56332(c)(1) allows the LAFCO Executive Officer to conduct the business of the committee in writing. Due to the lack of a quorum the Selection Committee is not able to select the alternate LAFCO representative. The Executive Officer may call for nominations to be submitted in writing within 30 days. At the end of the nomination period the Executive Officer shall prepare and deliver, or send by certified mail, to each independent special district one ballot and voting instructions. If only one candidate is nominated, that candidate shall be deemed selected, with no further proceeding.

Please schedule this request for nominations for a meeting of your Board of Directors as soon as possible. If your District's Board decides to nominate someone to fill the Special District seat on LAFCO, please submit that nomination to this office **no later than April 30, 2010**.

A nomination form, self-addressed stamped envelope, and current Commission Membership sheet are enclosed to assist you.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

cc: Members, Formation Commission

RECEIVED MAR 3 1 2010

NIPOMO COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT

1042 Pacific Street, Suite A · San Luis Obispo, California 93401 Tel: 805.781.5795 Fax: 805.788.2072 www.slolafco.com Copy of document found at www.NoNewWipTax.com

NOMINATION FOR LAFCO ALTERNATE SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER

The _____

(Insert Name of Special District)

Hereby nominates _______to serve as the (Insert Name of Nominee)

Alternate Special District Member on the San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO).

Board of Director's action in the nomination was taken on:

Signature

Date of Board Action

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

The Commission is comprised of seven (7) Regular Members (two county, two city, two special district, and one public member) and four (4) Alternate Members (one county, one city, one special district, and one public member) serving four-year terms. Current members and their term expiration dates are as follows:

Chairman Duane Picanco City Member, City of Paso Robles December 2011

Vice Chairman Richard Roberts Public Member, December 2012

K.H. "Katcho" Achadjian County Board Member, District 4 Supervisor December 2013

David L. Brooks Special District Member, Templeton Community Services District December 2012

> Bruce Gibson County Board Member, District 2 Supervisor December 2011

Allen Settle City Member, City of San Luis Obispo December 2009

Ed Eby Special District Member, Nipomo Community Services District December 2010

Alternates

Vacant Special District Member, December 2013

Tom Murray Public Member, December 2012

James R. Patterson County Member, December 2013

Kris Vardas City Member, City of Pismo Beach, December 2010