Water Planning Areas

The Master Water Plan Phase 1 effort is organized as both a topical and geographic discussion. "Water Planning Areas," or WPA, represent the geographic organization of the County. Water demand, agricultural water needs, sources of supply, and other information are organized by WPA. Prior to this Water Master Plan Update, County-wide water management plans have been organized by County Planning Area, a designation which does not coincide with watershed or ground water basin boundaries. The following WPAs are intended foremost to recognize important hydrogeologic units throughout the County.

The attached map delineates the Water Planning Areas, as discussed at the January, February and March 1998 Water Resources Advisory Committee meetings. Some background on the twelve areas is:

Coastal Water Planning Areas 1 Through 6

- 1. **North Coast** Encompasses San Simeon and Cambria. Follows watershed boundary along the Santa Lucia Range to the northeast and the watershed divide between Villa Creek and Cayucos Creek to the south.
- 2. Cayucos Includes coastal watersheds from Cayucos Creek to Toro Creek.
- 3. **Los Osos/Morro Bay** Encompasses Morro Bay and those portions of Los Osos that are within the Chorro Creek watershed. Extends along Highway 1 (Cuesta College, Camp SLO, Dairy Creek Golf Course, and CMC).
- 4. **San Luis Obispo/Avila** Includes San Luis Obispo Creek watershed as well as from Avila Beach to Montana De Oro State Park. Extends into Edna Valley up to the Pismo Creek watershed divide.
- 5. **Five Cities** Includes Five Cities area from Pismo Creek to Arroyo Grande Creek watersheds. Encompasses Lopez Lake watershed.
- 6. **Nipomo Mesa** Includes that portion of San Luis Obispo County that lies within the Santa Maria River watershed.

Inland Water Planning Areas 7 Through 10

- 7. **Cuyama** Encompasses that portion of San Luis Obispo County that lies within the Cuyama River watershed (i.e. Twitchell Reservoir).
- 8. **California Valley** Consists of the Carrizo Plain area of the County.
- 9a. **Salinas** Generally consists of the Salinas River watershed along the Highway 101 corridor from Santa Margarita Lake north to San Miguel.

- 9b. **Creston** Encompasses that portion of the Paso Robles ground water basin that also coincides with the Huerhuero Creek watershed. The northwestern boundary is generally the boundary between urban land uses of Paso Robles and the agricultural uses surrounding Creston. The southern boundary follows the watershed boundary of the Huerhuero Creek.
- 9c. **Shandon** Encompasses the watershed bounded by the La Panza Range to the southwest and including the Estrella Creek watershed to the north.
- 10. **Nacimiento** Consists of that portion of the County that drains into Lake Nacimiento.